Artists Catalog Vinyl Contact Etc  
Comfort: Proximity to Temporality
Comfort main page
Proximity to Temporality
year: 2011   |   cat#: 482-1076


1. Song for K - mp3 sample
2. Marching Figures - mp3 sample
3. Ode
4. A-100
5. Small Becomes All - mp3 sample
6. Hydrogen
7. Frenzied Euphoria of a Proximate Decline
8. Chi Mai
9. Molecular
10. The Oval Portrait

Buy Online

482 Music presents the next in an eclectic series of vinyl releases with the September arrival of the latest record, Proximity to Temporality, from the Italian trio known as Comfort.

Comfort - whose lineup is generally supplemented with multiple guests - is an eleven-year-old collective that have been variously described as post-rock, electronic, jazz, ambient and/or soundtrack. They describe their sound as an exploration between these genres - naturally coming from players of deep and varied musical roots - an in-between where the band operate with 'comfort' and without preconception, where the music becomes the pulse of their instinctive mood. Their most recent release, Sleep Talking Shared, (2009) was described as "intelligent, dexterous, jazzy rocktronica" (The Silent Ballet) with a "staggering diversity in mood and texture" (Tiny Mix Tapes). Exclaim Magazine said "though their scope is broad and guests many, the band is careful to let the instruments breathe and the silences matter".

Proximity, the group's third full length, continues to explore among multiple genres and expands on their sound by adding vocals to many tracks. Guests here include Joseph Costa (L'Altra), Lindsay Anderson (L'Altra, Telefon Tel Aviv, Will Oldham), Anna Tomlin (Audrey), and Beppe Scardino (Orange Room, El Gallo Rojo Collective). Comfort recently played the Domino Festival in Brussels and have shared the stage with, among others, Joe Lally, Piano Magic, Do Make Say Think, and Autobam. More information on Comfort is available at .

Proximity to Temporality is released as limited-edition vinyl and each contains a coupon for a free high-quality mp3 download of the entire album.

Musicians: Alessandro Baris (drums, guitars, keyboards, electronics), Leonardo Chirulli (keyboards), Fabio Elia (bass)

"The composing here is like a sinous wind vibration that touches things and give them voice..." — Fuori Dal Mucchio

"In between bold experimentation and soft seduction, a record that will catch various and different listeners.." — Rockerilla

"These days it's hard to find a post rock band that has still something to say and to communicate, and Comfort is one of those." — Blow Up

More Information...

Comfort main page at

Copyright © 2024 482 Music